GSoC: I Am Alive! (And bookmarks too!)

First I want to apologise because I haven’t blogged fo a month about my gsoc. But that doesn’t mean that I haven’t been working, quite contrary. I’ve been having limited connectivity and the limited time I got access to Internet I didn’t feel like blogging. Now I do. Lot’s of things have happened. I’ve even suffered the H1N1 but don’t worry about that because it’s not as bad as TV shows: for me it was two days with flu and the third day I was 100% ok.

The konqueror bookmarks menu is already rewritten to support the new bookmarks system.  I like to read see other people’s code because it can inspire me when I want to develop something. Thus, I’ve been reading Arora code and I liked their idea of using QAbstractItemModel as the data source for QMenu and that’s how I’ve implemented the new bookmarks menu.

I’ve always wanted to have menus more advanced than just normal menus. When I saw that inside Mac OS X Help menu there’s a search bar I knew I wanted to have something like that in KDE and I wondered if that was possible. The answer is yes. Qt Menu system allows to insert custom widgets with WidgetAction class so I’ve added a Search Bar to Bookmarks Menu. When you type in the search bar, the source model of the Bookmark menu changes to a DescendantsPRoxyModel which represent all bookmarks and folders in a flat list and uses a QSortFilterProxyModel to filter out results. It’s not finished yet, there are some issues with the search but all in all I’m quite satisfied. Next step: Awesome bar, and fix more bugs =).

I’ve also been working on the bookmarks organizer, fixing bugs, adding support inline bookmark editing in the bookmarks view using double-click, adding a BreadCrumb view similar to Dolphin’s breadcrumb mode but using a QAbstractItemModel as a source for paths, etc. Here’s a small videocast where I show some of the mentioned features in action:

12 Responses to “GSoC: I Am Alive! (And bookmarks too!)”


  1. 1 gaboo agosto 1, 2009 a las 2:42 am

    Looks really nice, great work, thank you !

  2. 2 Fri13 agosto 1, 2009 a las 3:21 am

    The searching from bookmark menu on konqueror and the tagging was just amazing!

    I do not need somekind superbar what firefox and other browsers has what shows bookmarks on the search bar. That should only be reserved for history. Bookmarks should be from one place like on your version! Just amazing!

  3. 5 montoya agosto 1, 2009 a las 11:08 am

    Please add a xmarks plugin🙂

  4. 6 Stefan Majewsky agosto 1, 2009 a las 1:14 pm

    Any chance that you can move your generic breadcrumb bar up into kdelibs? Amarok is already using some self-implemented breadcrumb bar, and it will surely be beneficial for other applications too, so I’d really like to have this in kdelibs.

    • 7 DanaKil agosto 1, 2009 a las 10:33 pm

      Agreed. We can see more and more breadcrumb bar in KDE. I just recently noticed that Gwenview use a darker breadcrumb (dark grey) than Dolphin and it is just great ! I hope this kind of design will appears in others breadcrumb using apps so that the UI will looks less “floating”

      Btw, great work gSocer !

  5. 8 Marcos Dione agosto 1, 2009 a las 4:47 pm

    where in the svn repo can I find the code? I’m planing to implement something similar for akregator.

  6. 9 Lionel Chauvin agosto 2, 2009 a las 12:28 am

    Can you subscribe to the Rekonq mailing list ? We plan to create an Awesome bar based on KRunner.

  7. 10 edulix agosto 2, 2009 a las 7:47 am

    The code is in a git repository in github: https://github.com/edulix/gsoc/tree

    I want to move some of the classes (Breadcrumb, ModelMenu) to kdelibs but I’m at first concentrating in terminating my gsoc successfully =).

    Awesomebar on krunner, I also thought about that but it was dismissed as an idea because it might bring some problems due to its extensive use of threads.

  8. 11 Stephen Kelly agosto 27, 2009 a las 5:51 pm

    I meant to comment on your blog earlier, but this is a seriously cool use of KDescendantsProxyModel.

    Nice work.


  1. 1 Top Posts « WordPress.com Trackback en agosto 2, 2009 a las 2:11 am

Responder

