Back in black & Akregator news

So this summer I spent some nice holidays in Ireland, Akademy was fantastic, and then the September exams were not so nice but they at least already ended so that’s ok. Yeah, it’s been quite a while since last time I blogged but now I’m back in black, once again, to make KDE 4.2 rock.

I haven’t started the classes yet and I already I’ve got already a lot of exciting projects in my head. Since yesterday I’ve been touching the code of Akregator. It is one of the applications I use the most throughout the day, together with KMail, Konqueror and Kopete, because thanks to this excellent feed reader I read the news from meneame, digg, slashdot, Planet KDE, and so on.

But akregator 4.1 seemed to have a major leak of memory because after using it for some days I end up with it using more than 300Mb of memory and that’s not right. So I had to closed akregator and reopen it, but doing that I lose the tabs I had opened in akregator. So? No problem sir, I will go straight to the code and try to fix it. That’s what I did!

Today I’ve commited a patch to trunk that adds support in akregator to automatically save the tabs you have opened when you close it, and they are restored the next time you run akregator. And the same will happen when you close KDE and login again if you have KDE configured to save & restore session. This will be available in KDE 4.2. Also, I fixed a leak in akregator, because sometimes it was not freeing the tab when you closed one. That fix is backported to KDE 4.1 too.

I must say that the akregator people have been very friendly to me and I will probably send more patches to them in the future. However now what I have in mind is getting an even better session support in konqueror, so be tunned =). Ok, I think that’s all for today.

8 Responses to “Back in black & Akregator news”


  1. 1 anon septiembre 25, 2008 a las 8:43 pm

    It would be nice to fix sudden crashes on start up.
    They are really annoying.
    See https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=164265

    And Akregator having some column width problem – https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=152702

  2. 2 Albert Astals Cid septiembre 25, 2008 a las 9:35 pm

    You could even fix the memory leak😉

  3. 3 Aaron Seigo septiembre 25, 2008 a las 10:15 pm

    It seems he did fix at least one leak (and a big one at that!) ..

    My biggest pet peeve with akregator in trunk is that it does funky things with the ListView of blog entries between restarts. i often have to turn off the fields i don’t use, click the data column twice to get it to sort again by date and resize the columns to my preferences…

    not that i can complain: it’s been that way for how many months and i haven’t contributed a patch to fix it yet =(

    you rock, guy!

  4. 4 Aaron Seigo septiembre 25, 2008 a las 10:16 pm

    oops.. data column == date column =)

  5. 5 Chani septiembre 26, 2008 a las 4:51 am

    awesome, thanks🙂

    …any chance you could make keyboard shortcuts (mainly tab-related), the browser toolbar, and browser reload work again?😉

  6. 6 Jucato septiembre 26, 2008 a las 5:46 am

    Wow! Thanks! That is definitely one feature I’ve been longing for in Akregator. I hope that takes it one step closer to getting some crash-handling in Akregator (or does this patch solve that as well?)

    Is it just me or has Akregator become a bit slower at filtering? Or maybe there’s a certain maximum limit? Because it totally freezes for a almost a minute when I filter for something in my Planet KDE feed, which is about 3000+ articles now. When you make a typo in your filter, that delay is almost too unbearable.🙂

  7. 7 jos poortvliet septiembre 26, 2008 a las 4:47 pm

    Hey thank you so very much! I use Akregator all the time, but the issue you mention (and the ones Aaron mentions) are making me want to beat my head into the wall all the time…😦


  1. 1 woodworking furniture design software Trackback en octubre 18, 2014 a las 7:03 am

Responder

